Go To Search
Activities and EventsCommunityTown HallServicesI Want To...

Banff's Latest News

Posted on: October 16, 2017

Mayor re-elected, one new councillor for Town of Banff

Incumbent Mayor Karen Sorensen was re-elected Monday, October 16 with 1,223 votes. Mayoral candidate Hugh Pettigrew received 958 votes.

Sixteen council candidates, including five incumbents, were in the race for six council positions. All five incumbents were re-elected – Grant Canning, Ted Christensen, Corrie DiManno, Chip Olver, and Brian Standish will return to the council table for the next four years. Joining them will be first-term councillor Peter Poole.

For the question on the ballot, “Is there ever a time that the Town of Banff should implement user pay parking?" the results were 46% Yes and 54% No.

Incumbent school board trustees Arlene Rheaume and Luke Sunderland were re-elected to the Canadian Rockies Regional School Division No.2 – Banff Ward.

The new town council will be sworn in on Monday, October 23 at 2 p.m. at Banff Town Hall.
The total number of residents casting a ballot in the 2017 municipal election was 2,215. In 2013, 1,878 voted.

Full election results are available at banff.ca/electionresults.
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Banff's Latest News

Santa Claus Parade of Lights, Nov. 18

Posted on: November 16, 2017

FireSmart work resumes

Posted on: November 7, 2017

Make a Plan – Every Second Counts

Posted on: October 2, 2017

Sheperdia removal in Middle Springs

Posted on: September 20, 2017

Fire Ban Lifted

Posted on: September 15, 2017

Essential Local's Guide to Banff

Posted on: August 15, 2017

Wildfire Update - July 31, 1:15 p.m.

Posted on: July 31, 2017

Municipal Census Underway

Posted on: June 6, 2017

Mock disaster tests preparedness

Posted on: March 1, 2017

Roam to Lake Minnewanka this summer

Posted on: February 10, 2017

Snow Removal Schedule for Feb. 21-23

Posted on: February 21, 2017

Family Day in Banff

Posted on: February 16, 2017

Special Meeting of Council Jan. 25

Posted on: January 24, 2017