Banff Town Council

Banff Town Council is one of only two elected councils inside of a national park, (Jasper also has a town council), and consists of one mayor and six councillors. Banff residents vote for mayor and council in a general election held every four years. Meet our town council or find out ways to Connect with Council. Learn about the Council Code of Conduct.


Council meetings are open to the public and are generally held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 2 p.m. in the council chamber at Banff Town Hall.

COVID-19 impact

  • Members of Town Council may participate in Council and Committee meetings remotely online via Zoom Meetings.
  • Community members are encouraged to follow Council and Committee meetings using the live stream

Connect with Council

Register to speak to Council in a meeting, send a letter to Council about an upcoming meeting topic, or request the Mayor to speak at your event online: Connect with Council.

Council Briefs

Following each council meeting, a briefing of decisions made is posted online. Sign up to receive an email when council briefs are posted or read past Council Updates.

Media Requests

Request a media interview with the Mayor or ask for information about Town decisions, services and programs for media coverage: email or call 403.762.1207

More Information