News Releases Home
The original item was published from 10/20/2021 3:24:00 PM to 1/1/2022 12:00:01 AM.

News Releases

Banff's Latest News

Posted on: October 18, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Corrie DiManno elected Banff mayor, three new councillors, according to unofficial results


Corrie DiManno has been returned as the chief elected officer of the Town of Banff, with 1,096 votes. Mayoral candidate and former councillor Brian Standish received 500 votes, while Karen Thomas received 432 votes and Garry Gilmour received 32 votes in the unofficial tabulation released Monday night. Official results are confirmed on Friday, Oct. 22.

Dimanno was first elected to Banff Town Council in 2013 and re-elected as a councillor in 2017. In August 2021, DiManno was appointed mayor by her council colleagues after former mayor Karen Sorensen resigned from the chief elected official position, upon being appointed to the Canadian Senate in July 2021.

Fourteen council candidates, including three incumbents, were in the race for the six council positions. Three incumbents were re-elected – Ted Christensen, Grant Canning, and Chip Olver – will return to the council table for the next four years. Joining them will be first-term councillors Barb Pelham, Kaylee Ram, and Hugh Pettigrew.

The new Banff Town Council will be sworn in on Monday, October 25 at 2 p.m. 

The total number of residents casting a ballot for Banff Town Council in the 2021 municipal election was 2,090. In 2017, there were 2,215 votes. In 2013, 1,878 voted. The most recent municipal census in 2017 registered a population of 8,865 people, but there is no certainty of the current total population or eligible voters, especially with the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on the resort community.

This year, 828 votes were cast on the Advance Voting days and 1,223 on the October 18 Election Day. There were 39 Special Ballots received. 

Full election results are available at Please note these are the unofficial results. Official results will be posted by the returning officer at noon on October 22.

Unofficial Results

Candidates for Mayor                  Number of Votes Received            Elected  (✔)       Incumbent (✶) 

Corrie DiManno                            1,096                                                              ✔                               

Garry Gilmour                               32                                                  

Brian James Standish                 500                                                

Karen Marlene Thomas            432                                                

 Candidates for Councillor           Number of Votes Received            Elected (✔)        Incumbent (✶)

Jessia C. Arsenio                            447                                                

Allan Buckingham                         790                                                

Grant Canning                              879                                                                            ✔                        ✶

Ted Christensen                           901                                                                           ✔                        ✶

Stephanie Ferracuti                   624                                                

Dana Humbert                              512                                                

Chip (Cheryl) Olver                    876                                                                            ✔                        ✶

Barb Pelham                                 1,251                                                                        ✔

Hugh Pettigrew                            831                                                                          ✔

Kaylee Ram                                   1,146                                                                       ✔

Shawn Rapley                               494                                                

Kerry-Lee Schultheis              183                                                

Mark Walker                                 631                                                

Lesley Young                                 392                                                



 For more information, contact:
Jason Darrah, Communications Director
Town of Banff
Office: 403.762.1207    Mobile: 403.431.2307 


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Banff's Latest News


Town starts 2024 budget debates

Posted on: December 7, 2023
Heritage Finder News

Heritage Finder

Posted on: March 1, 2023
Disaster Readiness Day News

Banff Gets Ready for Disasters

Posted on: May 1, 2023